Presidency of the Seventy

The Presidency of the Seventy consists of seven General Authority Seventies who are called by the First Presidency and are given authority to preside over the Quorums of the Seventy.


Most presidencies in the Church have a presidency of three: a president and two counselors. However, in accordance with scripture, all are presidents in the Presidency of the Seventy—none are counselors: “And it is according to the vision showing the order of the Seventy, that they should have seven presidents to preside over them, chosen out of the number of the seventy; and the seventh president of these presidents is to preside over the six” (D&C 107:93–94).

The following make up the Presidency of the Seventy: Elder L. Whitney Clayton, Elder Patrick Kearon, Elder Carl B. Cook, Elder Robert C. Gay, Elder Terence M. Vinson, Elder José Teixeira and Elder Carlos A. Godoy.

Style Guide Note:When reporting about The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, please use the complete name of the Church in the first reference. For more information on the use of the name of the Church, go to our online Style Guide.